Busan International Film Festival: Aparna Sen’s The Rapist wins Kim Jisiok Award

Busan Film Festival: Kim Jissok’s award for Aparna Sen’s The Rapist Photo Credit: Twitter/ @senaparna

Busan Film Festival: Kim Jissok’s award for Aparna Sen’s The Rapist Photo Credit: Twitter/ @senaparna

Feature film by National Award winning director Aparna Sen rapistHas won the prestigious Kim Jiseok Award at Busan International Film Festival.

The film, starring Konkona Sen Sharma, Arjun Rampal and Tanmay Dhanania, recently had its world premiere at the festival as part of the ‘A Window on Asian Cinema’ segment.

For the award, instituted in 2017 in honorable memory of the late program director Kim Jiseok, rapistwas pitted against six other feature films including the Nawazuddin Siddiqui-starrer no lands man.

Sen said she feels “extremely humbled, grateful and overwhelmed” after receiving the award for her directorial venture.

“This award has a special significance for me because I was in Busan as a jury member many years ago and I had the honor of meeting Mr. Kim personally. I thank Mr. Kim to promote Asian cinema around the world. Was aware of the tireless, lifelong effort of .

“I take this opportunity to thank our producers, Applause Entertainment and Quest Films, who put all their might behind me and supported me in every way possible. And of course, my very talented cast and crew have helped make my vision a reality. helped,” said the 75-year-old.

rapist, Produced by Applause Entertainment in association with Quest Films Pvt. Ltd., narrates the journey of three protagonists and how their lives are twisted due to a horrific incident.

The film aims to look beyond the obvious crime, “to explore not only how it affects crime survivors and perpetrators, but also to explore how one’s idealistic views when the truth comes close to home.” There’s going to be a huge change.” Sameer Nair, CEO, Applause Entertainment, said, “We are delighted to know that our first feature film, directed by the incredible Aparna Sen, has received this special honour. “It was a privilege to be nominated in such a great list of films, and this win reaffirms our belief in Aparna’s story since we first heard it. We are delighted to partner with Quest Films and we hope to honor Kim The award in Jisiok Busan will help take The Rapist to a wider, global audience.”

Suchanda Chatterjee and Shubha Shetty of Quest Films said that they are honored to be a part of the team of the film.

“Knowing the kind of story and the passion with which Aparna Sen works, this will be a film that will be remembered for a long time. Winning the coveted Kim Jacques Award makes us believe in it all the more. We Grateful to the applause for supporting our dream project,” he said.

The 26th edition of Busan International Film Festival concluded on Friday.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.